it’s fact

Finally a picture post! Be warned, these pictures are what happen when you are home alone with the flu. lol.
Anyway, I lost the before picture to this first project, which is annoying becuase it is so much more interesting with. It started at as a gigantic men’s polo shirt. I stitched close the polo opening, turned that to the back, slimmed at and fixed the sleeves. I honestly like simple recons better than the really crazy ones.
So, on to the pictures of my Argyle sweater dress:
argyle

This is a picture of the back where the buttons and polo collar were:
argyle2

The second is very simple. I found this shirt:
stripe
And made it fitted with medium length sleeves and black jersey bands around the bottom and the sleeves.
stripe2
stripe3

If you couldn’t tell, I like standing on my sink.
I apologize for the lack of interesting posts on my blog. I’ve been sick quite a lot, and I have been busy with a few swaps. I am trying to be better about posting more interesting things, but I forget a lot.
Someday I will also take better pictures, but I didn’t really feel up to it.

My day today consisted of sitting on the couch with a big basket of yarn next to me. I finished up some things, frogged some others. I also started a few new projects which I’m not sure about yet :/

I have a Halloween lament. I am the queen of Halloween. I make myself some crazy costume that U’ve been planning for months, I usually make costumes for a few other people, and I always end up with the most candy. Halloween is my favorite holiday- seriously, it is. But this year is different… First, I have nothing to do. I don’t really even have a posse I can gather up to watch stupid movies or go trick or treating with. I can’t have candy anyway, and making a costume to wear while being sick on the couch would probably be worse than not dressing up at all. Maybe next year… or I could just dress up for Christmas and pretend it’s Halloween. Now there’s an idea.

8 responses to “it’s fact

  1. Wow! Those are amazing transformations. I’m totally blown away. πŸ™‚ I sure hope you start feeling better soon. At least in time to dress up for Christmas. πŸ™‚

  2. That’s great, Emily!

  3. Those shirts are fab! And they look so good on you! Sorry to hear you’re still not feeling well 😦 Roll on Christmas! x

  4. i’m in LOVE with that argyle shirt dress. argyle is my lover.

    bummer about halloween. i vote you dress up on thanksgiving AND christmas to fully make up for it. πŸ™‚

  5. I love your new dress; I always think simpler, well-done reconstructions are so much nicer than mad, over-the-top ones with tonnes of detail (but badly-sewn). What a shame about hallowe’en, it’s never such a big deal in Britain but I know that it’s taken more seriously in the States. And I’m emailling you now. xn

  6. I love that argyle dress! Nicely done.
    I can echo your Halloween crisis–it’s my favorite holiday, and I stayed home doing nothing 😦 It’s pretty much the biggest disappointment ever.

  7. I love the argyle dress – great job! And it looks wonderful on you!

  8. I’m really impressed by your modification skills. That’s super cool!

Leave a Reply

