Sugar-free berry muffins

Sugar-free, whole wheat, berry muffins.

muffin

1 cup mashed banana
One tablespoon flaxseed, mixed well with three tablespoons cold water
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup milk
2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup berries (I used raspberry, but blueberries, blackberries or finely chopped strawberries would also work well)

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Line or spray 15 muffin cups.
2. In a large bowl, stir together banana, flax mixture, water, and milk or oil. Add flour and mix. Quickly stir in baking soda and powder, then mix gently. Fold in berries. Spoon batter into preared tins.
3. Bake for about 20 minutes or until they test done. Cool very slightly, and remove to wire rack.

*You can use oil in place of the milk. The muffins come out very soft using milk- the oil will make it slightly more crumbly.

Hopefully a more interesting post will surface tomorrow, but for now, I need to make dinner.

7 responses to “Sugar-free berry muffins

  1. ooh, these sound yummy! i’ll attempt to make them soon. thanks for these fantastic recipes!

  2. Yum! Flaxseed works really well for an egg substitute, huh? We use it all the time. Really cute tunic further down, by the way. Love the pockets!

  3. They look delicious, but I always have a major problem with “sugar-free.”
    That taco video is the funniest thing ever.

  4. Hola, hermana! Speaking of layouts…mine is getting boring. Do you want to redo it for me? *Insert grin here*

  5. Pshaw, I’m only the queen of sock making if you’re the queen of exaggeration. If anything, I’m an overly ambitious beginner pregnant with pretention. But yeah, I’ve made a couple pairs. To tell you the truth, I’m great at using utterly the wrong materials for a project, so I’ve totally gone the acrylic-worsted route while most sock knitters insist on only the most luxuriant fine wool.
    But anyway, for a nice pair, you’ll want a good natural fiber so your mom’s feet can actually breathe. Wool yarns are ideal, while a little nylon or cotton content will improve the durability and the softness.
    I get most of my yarn from KnitPicks.com, who has a pretty nice selection of sock yarn, but you could always do a search for “sock yarn” or “fingering weight yarn” and pick out whichever you find to be the least expensive. (I am by no means a guru on quality.) Or, if you want sturdy socks, you can absolutely use thicker yarn not necessarily made for them.
    For needles you’ll want a thin set of dpn’s, so anywhere from sizes 1-3 will be good for fingering, 3-5 for worsted.
    Er–that’s all I got. Hope I was a bit of help; I’ll be ending the longest comment in the universe now. 🙂

  6. Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe!! It looks delicious! Thank you!!!! I will have to try this out, and I’ll let you know how they turn out 😀 Mmm, blueberries sounds so good. I’ve never used flaxseed before (still a “newbie” in the kitchen, I admit) so it will be my first time using it. Mmmmmm I love muffins! 🙂

    Geez, I love your blog. Like, really really love it.

Leave a Reply

