We only want what’s best, for him.

And now, the moment you have all been waiting for (actually probably not)… I finally have pictures of my car! No, it’s not so crafty, except for maybe the ‘detailing’ aka cleaning I did to it yesterday, but who cares?
Yes, he is old and rickety looking. Yes, he could use a good bath, and probably a paint job (pink, anyone?), but I love him. He’s so cute and funny looking in a good way. These pictures do not do much justice to his looks. I tried to get better ones, but to no avail. Someday…
Anyway, he is a 1971 Toyota Corolla- can you say vintage?-, with no heating or air conditioning- perfect for those Colorado winters-, he is baby blue and is probably about 8 or nine feet long. I actually feel normal sized when driving.*
On to the pictures:
cAR

car2

No pictures of the inside. Even after all of the cleaning, it still needs a little sprucing up.
Oh yes, and his name. My mom and I thought of his name while driving home after shopping the other day. We were listening to an 80’s song, and being Australian (I believe( they pronounced the same quite hilariously. Anyway, his name is: Nigel. Yes, Nigel. I also added a middle name, making him Nigel Elliott. Cool, eh? If you couldn’t tell, I really do like this car. I just hope he lasts until I can actually drive him by myself 😀

*Being 5’1″ can make a person feel a little stunted when driving, say, a mini-van or huge Ford truck.

8 responses to “We only want what’s best, for him.

  1. Oh my, that is definitely retro! Nigel… Haha, classic! I can’t believe you can start driving so young over there! And you’re more than welcome for the lifeline tip! Hope it helps x

  2. Woo-hoo! It’s very cute. 🙂

    I have a friend who’s 5’1″….she just learned to drive this summer.

  3. Welcome to the family Nigel. He definitely needs a new paint job although I don’t think any self respecting Nigel would wear pink. Maybe blaze orange with a racing stripe.

    Black with chrome and a fancy hood ornament like a Bentley would be even better but probably difficult to do.

  4. I can’t wait to see what you do with it. I see a very colorful car in the near future. 🙂

  5. I Want ONE!!!! Actually I am(with prayer, and a good tow Truck) a 1960 ford Station wagon!! YEAH BABY!!! It is red, and in rather similiar condition to your car!! BUT I LOVE YOUR CAR!! It is soooo cute!

    by the way, I have a few links, but I wouldn’ mind some of your links to fabric stores you have ordered from! I am a little nervous about ordering online! I KNOW everyone does it, but still………..

  6. I kinda like the color…

    I feel so privileged to have known the name before you posted it on here.

  7. I’m 5’1 too! :] Haha, that’s awesome!
    Nigel is super funky & cute.

  8. Emily, Nigel is smashing! I would love to drive a car just like yours. Very cute and just the right shape and size for my liking.

    I kinda like the blue just as it is. Gives him character.

Leave a Reply

